- Dissolve JP

“ポスト”で加熱するダブステップ から溶け出したチルでメローな アーバン・ステップ & ビート!再びシーンの最前線へと躍り出たµ-Ziq率いる〈Planet Mu〉よりBoxcutter4枚目となるマスターピース!!

90年代よりAphex Twinと並んでカルト的な人気を誇るアーティストµ-ZiqことMike Paradinas主宰のUKエレクトロニック界の老舗レーベル〈Planet Mu〉。00年代以降もブレイク・コア〜グライム〜ダブステップの流れと共にレーベル・カラーを変えることなく進化を続け、ここ最近ではベース・ミュージックの新潮流となりつつあるシカゴのゲットー・ダンス Juke (ジューク) のコンピレーション、インディ・シーンでも大好評だったサイケデリック・ポップ・デュオSolar Bears、James Blakeの大ブレイク以降も目下注目のMount KimbieやJamie xxのリミックスでも話題となったモダン・UKガラージを展開するFaltyDLのリリースなど、ポスト・ダブステップで沸き上がるUKクラブ・ミュージック・シーンの熱も助長し、その存在感は増すばかり。そんな絶好調の〈Planet Mu〉よりレーベルの看板アーティストBoxcutterが2年ぶり4枚目となるフル・アルバムを満を持してリリース。映像エフェクトのディゾルブ(画面が次第に消えて行くに連れ次の画面がとけ込む感じで入れ替わる画面転換の技法)を着想とした本作はUSインディ発のシンセ/チル・ウェーブやニュー・ディスコのバレアリック感に、現行クラブ・シーンのトレンドセッターとして君臨するDam Funkの影響も垣間見えるアーバンでファンキーな艶を増し、 これまで以上にメロディアスでTR808や生楽器のアナログ感が全面に出た、ボーカルトラックも多数収録されるなどディスコ / ファンク、ビート/ブレイクビーツ、ダブステップ / UKガラージまでBoxcutterの集大成とも言える正に‘ポスト’な一枚です。インディからクラブまでアナログ回帰が激化する昨今のトレンドと、本作のアートワークにもなったカナダのビデオ・アート作家Sabrina Ratteplusの作品にばっちりリンクした6曲目‘TV Troubles’は要チェックです!!


+ ボーナストラック2曲

+ Boxcutter Exclusive DJ Mix *DL Code


+ V.A. – Planet Mu 2011 Promo Mix by Mike Paradinas



Artist Info.


北アイルランド出身のBarry Lynn (バリー・リン)によるソロ・プロジェクトBoxcutter (ボックスカッター)。Mount KimbieやJoy Orbisonといったアーティストを輩出し、ポスト・ダブステップの核レーベルとなった〈Hotflush〉よりデビュー、〈Planet Mu〉に移籍後3枚のアルバムを発表し、レーベル・カラーと共鳴するレフトフィールドなブレイクコアやグライムの激しいビートに浮遊感のある叙情的なシンセというIDM的な作風で定評を得る。集大成の4枚目となる『The Dissolve』(2011)は自身のルーツでもあるファンクやソウルを織り交ぜ、よりアナログ指向性のある柔らかなテキスチャのビート / ベース作品へ。また変名儀のHostではよりコズミックでスペーシーなニューエイジへのアプローチをみせた作品を発表。〈Planet Mu〉の柔らかなサウンドとメロディに激しいブレイクビーツを用いたスタイルを継承するレーベルを代表するアーティスト。

English Info.

Barry Lynn has already dropped a couple of albums that looked at dubstep from fresh angles before everyone else started to do the same. This time around, on "The Dissolve", things are different, and he’s taken off in a direction that leaves dubstep behind entirely. The title is a reference to a common video art effect, where one image gradually transitions to another. The album has an unpolished hue to it, created with keyboards, drum machine, echo and tape and sometimes even electric guitar. It sits in a world of its own, but with a stronger affinity to things like Theo Parrish's productions or hypnagogic pop than the latest fashionable electronics created on the newest software - the devil is in the details with this album, it’s rich in twists and turns. "The Dissolve" opens with the spacey funk and marimba of 'Panama', into the floaty synth and bass of 'Zabriskie Disco'. Things start to take on more gravity with 'All Too Heavy', one of three tracks featuring singer Brian Greene, that mixes a hazy, dubbed out funk abstraction with Greene’s effect laden vocals. 'Cold War' featuring Ken and Ryu gets heavier still, with a slow dancehall kick drum and grimy metallic claps, over which mourns a sad 8-bit melody and slip-slide strings. 'Passerby' uses an echoed 808 and a guitar melody to make something that sits at the border between Eighties funk and Steve Hillage hippy grooves, while the next track, 'TV Troubles' takes that idea even further, wrapping echoey riffs into a lo-fi funk vamp which rewinds, slows down and distorts on a tape reel, it’s incredible. Title track 'The Dissolve' is even more lo-fi; jump cut edits and a sound that’s frayed around the edges, everything bathed in tape wobble and hiss which finally slows down to a stop. 'Moon Pupils' restarts the album again from an airy 2-step perspective with melodic, hollow bass sounds, echoes and reverse edits, whilst 'Factory Setting' mixes off-key metallic synths with a bassline and funky galloping drums, which gives the album a rare moment of darkness. 'Allele' brings things into the open again, building from echoey drums into a tight Juke influenced drum pattern, before adding a vocal that hints at old school hardcore, all wavering chords and drops, before the whole thing finally resolves into a restrained but ravey breakbeat. 'Topsoil' mixes a gliding synth melody with hazy synth stabs and dusty drums, before 'Little Smoke Remix', collaboration with Kab Driver, wraps hard offbeat drums in cascading synth arpeggios. The album ends in the broken funk of 'Ufonik', and by then you definitely get the feeling, as an album, you’ve been transported and dropped off somewhere else entirely.
Release Date
¥2,000 + 税
Bass / Beat / Post Dubstep
01. Panama
02. Zabriskie Disco
03. All Too Heavy (ft. Brian Greene)
04. Cold War (vs Ken & Ryu)
05. Passerby
06. TV Troubles 
07. The Dissolve (ft. Brian Greene) 
08. Moon Pupils
09. Factory Setting
10. Allele
11. Topsoil
12. Little Smoke Remix (vs Kab Driver)
13. Ufonik (ft. Brian Greene)
14. Other People *

*Bonus Track

Update: 9 Apr 2014

More Releases by